Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2)

Synopsis: Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world

This is a pretty solid sequel, though I feel like there was something less magical about it than the first book. All I can say is GO READ THE FIRST BOOK, it did incredible things to my mind. My review of that one is also a lot more detailed and put together and you can read it here.

Here’s a quick breakdown of what did and didn’t work for me.

The Good Things:
-The stakes were higher.
-I cared a little bit more about Alina and Mal’s relationship because it was more dynamic.
-Sturmhond! Give me more of this character please, and his inventions.

The Not-so-Good Things:
-There were a lot of boring bits.
-Alina was so isolated that it was kind of depressing. I missed how bright the first book seemed with Genya and Mal there all the time.
-I felt like some characters were getting killed off as if this was the seventh Harry Potter book, without us really getting to know them first.

As far as my ships go, I don’t even care who she gets with, I just want her to get with someone. I like all of the contenders to be honest. I think they offer different things and the triangle (square?) doesn’t bother me. Alina is mopier when she’s alone and spends too much time in her head, which isn’t entirely interesting.

Possibly I didn’t enjoy this one as much because I was so busy and had to stretch it out. I read Shadow and Bone in about a day, whereas this one has taken me over two months. I’m still super excited to continue the series, but I’ll be reading something else first.

Title: Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2)
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Pages: 435
Genre:
 YA, Fantasy, Sequels
Published: June 4th 2013 by Henry Holt and Company
This Book on Goodreads
This Review on Goodreads

3 Star3 Ships- Liked it

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

