Review: Blue is the Warmest Color

blueAuthor: Julie Maroh
Pages: 156
Published: September 2013, by Arsenal Pulp Press
Genre: Graphic Novel, LGBT (Lesbian), YA, Romance
Synopsis: Blue is the Warmest Color is a graphic novel about growing up, falling in love, and coming out. First published in French by Belgium’s Glénat, the book has won several awards, including the Audience Prize at the Angoulême International Comics Festival, Europe’s largest. The film Blue Is the Warmest Color won the Palme d’Or at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival.

This broke my heart at least twice and I could not stop crying. This could have been read in about two hours but I couldn’t force myself through that much emotional stress at one time. The artwork is beautiful, the characters are beautiful, the story is realistic, which makes it beautiful. Ahhh, beautiful.

The first half of this was explorative, deep, inspiring, and crushing. I wish I’d bought the French version, but even in English the author’s poetic nature comes across. The second half rushed by and I found that a little upsetting and more than slightly disappointing. I wanted to continue to explore Clementine’s life the way we could when she was 15-17. Then she’s suddenly 30, everything is going wrong, and there is hardly an explanation for it and hardly any time to feel the pain.

Comparison to the movie is avoidable, but I’m going to do it anyway. The graphic novel is more personal, that’s clear right away. However the movie fleshes out those mid years in much greater depth which I appreciated a lot. The novel is still the truer story though, the most heartfelt. Here is a link to an article written by the author about her mixed feelings on the movie. I like both for different reasons, and I’ve taken different things out of either. I think anyone else could do the same.

4 Star4 Ships

2 thoughts on “Review: Blue is the Warmest Color

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

