Review: The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1)

2495567Author: Patrick Rothfuss
Published: April 2008 by Harper
Pages: 722
Genre: Fantasy
Synopsis: MY NAME IS KVOTHE. I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. You may have heard of me.

This met my expectations for the most part. The writing style doesn’t call attention to itself, which is good in books with more complex things to pay attention to. The magic was great, unique from anything I’ve read before. The beginning of Kvothe’s story as a child was well told and I easily came to like him as a character. I lost some of this as he moved into the second and third parts of his life story, finding him a little bit cocky and unrealistic. This either changed or I stopped noticing it before the second half of the book.

The only complaint that stuck with me to the final page was the involvement of the love interest. She felt unnecessary, thrown in there for the sake of having a romantic element to the series. Besides this, she was also made out to be too perfect. A bit boring, really. This doesn’t really ruin the novel, as everything else is so carefully crafted

Overall, worth the read and enjoyable. Certainly worth reading the sequel.

It’s also exciting whenever this type of series comes around now. It’s reassuring to know that the great epic fantasy series aren’t all in the past.

4 Star4 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1)

Add yours

  1. Thanks for a great review ☺️ I’m enjoying this series though as I’m now in the waiting-for-the-next-instalment stage I’m starting to worry that the details will fade from my mind and I’m going to have some seriously chunky books to re-read lol xoxo

    Like

    1. I haven’t read the second one yet and I think I’m putting it off for that reason. I want to be able to read the third right after because I know I’m going to absolutely fall in love with the second. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

