Review: The Final Empire (Mistborn #1)

mistbornAuthor: Brandon Sanderson
Pages: 541
Published: July 2006 by Tor Books
Genre: Fantasy, Epic Fantasy
Synopsis: In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with color once more?

The Mistborn trilogy has the coolest magic system I’ve ever heard of, hands down. I feel like more amazing things will come in the following two books as well. For people like me who are tired of the usual abracadabra wizardy hocus pocus that goes on in most high fantasy novels, or for those who get easily distracted when authors begin to describe such things, this system is actually quite fascinating to learn and discover. Sanderson doesn’t throw it in your face and expect you to understand it either. The slow reveal of how things work is exciting and even suspenseful at times, with lots of little plot twists to keep it interesting.

As far as characters go, they were alright. Kelsier was pretty cool and having Vin as a narrator was mostly okay. To be completely honest, sometimes either one of them got a bit irritating, mostly just because of their mind sets at any given moment. While I’d normally prefer a female perspective (relatability and all that), I was constantly curious about what this would have been like had it been told by Kelsier. It’s not that Vin was poorly written as a female character, but Kelsier did seem much more developed. Vin’s perspective was probably much needed, I just felt like I was missing out on something great.

As for the writing itself, fucking breath of fresh air. While I appreciate the poetic style of a lot of fantasy novelists’ prose, the simplicity (and modernity) of Sanderson’s writing made this the least confusing fantasy piece I’ve read to date. It’s very clear who’s on whose side, the magic foundation is complex but straightforwardly described, the characters can never be mixed up with each other, and if I’d had the motivation this would have been a quick read despite its length. That said, I usually include a quote in my reviews and nothing stood out as something overly inspiring.

As a final note, if you love plot twists then you may appreciate Sanderson’s. I admit that for me there were moments that lulled and I found myself losing motivation to binge read this, but just at the lowest point something huge would happen and I’d be walking places with my ereader glued to my face.

4.5 Star4.5 ships

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

