Review: Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days #1)

angelfallAuthor: Susan Ee
Pages: 288
Published: August 2012 by Skyscape
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopian, Supernatural
Synopsis: It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back. Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

“I never thought about it before, but I’m proud to be human. We’re ever so flawed. We’re frail, confused, violent, and we struggle with so many issues. But all in all, I’m proud to be a Daughter of Man

This was a lot of fun, and definitely what I needed to pull me out of my reading rut.

The story is nothing new; angels invade the earth which causes the apocalypse, one lone teenage girl must infiltrate the enemy to fix things and fight for her family, the love interest is one of the enemy, etc. However, the way this story is intelligently presented to a YA audience is less common. Fans of Supernatural (and Dystopian novels) may enjoy this, as they have similar themes and even use some of the same angels. There’s also a creepy spin to things which I appreciated. It was very easy to visualize what the author described.

The heroine, Penryn, is badass and not in an irritating know-it-all way. She readily admits that she isn’t as witty as she wishes she was, and we have Raffe, the shirtless fallen angel to take up that slack. I didn’t expect this to be funny but I couldn’t stop laughing through the first bit.

My only complaint about the writing- and I didn’t notice this until about ¾ of the way through- is that the language becomes very repetitive. If a word is used once, then it is used three times in the following sentences. “I know I’m getting my body back but I just lie there until I can sit up. I start to occasionally blink and breathe normally long before I sit up.” That’s a light example, but it was the quickest one I saw at a glance. The word “floor” was used four times in as many sentences and it isn’t a big deal but it’s mildly irritating when the writing is otherwise amazing.

I think I loved the romance but I’m not really sure. I’m debating whether or not I find Raffe’s feelings and his attitude towards Penryn realistic or not (he’s an angel, I know, I know. How realistic can it be?). I love that the author didn’t focus the entire plot around this relationship, but I still wanted it to happen!

4 Star4 Ships

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

