Review: You’re Never Weird on the Internet

never weirdAuthor: Felicia Day
Published: 2015 by Touchstone
Genre: Memoir, showbiz, non-fiction
Synopsis: From online entertainment mogul, actress, and “queen of the geeks” Felicia Day, a funny, quirky, and inspiring memoir about her unusual upbringing, her rise to Internet-stardom, and embracing her individuality to find success in Hollywood.

Normally when you read something funny in public you laugh or awkwardly snort every few pages, but I was commuting on the streetcar when I started reading this and I was laughing so hard I had to take breaks. After getting the third side eye look from the person occupying the seat next to me I finally just had to say “Get the book and you’d understand.” Then it was awkward but my stop was next anyway.

I expected this memoir to be funny and to feed my inner (and outer, let’s be honest) fangirl, and it did all of that, but I was surprised at how much I actually took out of it. I love video games, but I don’t think I’m at the level to consider myself a “gamer”. So what I didn’t expect was to connect so much with was the chapter on how she let World of Warcraft dominate her life to the point where it caused her anxiety, and was an addiction that was hampering what she wanted to do with her career. I was crying at that point, because I’m that crazy girl that can’t go a day without tumblr and I panic if my internet is down for more than twenty minutes when I need to check in on my fanfiction writing forum. That’s a small example but I won’t get into it. The point is that Felicia opening up about her anxieties, OCD tendencies and depression hit home really hard, but in a way that made me feel like I can get control of myself.

As someone trying to break into the film industry, I was laughing (still on the streetcar) at the chapter on filming The Guild . Searching the dump for free props and set dec because you have almost no budget? Been there. Hearing Felicia talk about going from having an interest in gaming to making it into a successful web series, and as a woman, is something I find extremely encouraging. I want to print half of her words on a T-Shirt. Or a coffee mug. Get the book and you’ll understand. While the memoir reaffirmed that the movie industry can be extremely dirty, condescending and soul crushing, I definitely have more confidence in being able to create my own work and do something with it (maybe on the web, who knows!?) after reading this.

Felicia’s standpoint on feminism was also confidence inspiring. Her views lined up with my own and it’s nice to know that there is a person with an internet influence who can advocate for that kind of positivity. There’s a good chapter on Gamergate at the end.

Felicia also shows off her mad photoshop skills, so get the book just for that!

I had the pleasure of meeting Felicia at her Toronto book signing August 13th, 2015.15848696

5 Star5 Stars

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

